Annual Conference

annual conference
science makes a difference
DATE CHANGES TO: Tuesday, Jan 27, 2015
Since 1998, The Friends of NIDCR has hosted its Annual Conference & Awards in Washington DC for its members and friends from the US, Canada and abroad.

Awards are presented to honor significant accomplishments in oral health, including education media, advocacy, lifetime achievement and public service. See the list of prominent recipients - you'll be impressed!

See the article and pictures from 2013.

Friends of NIDCR 2014 Annual Conference & Awards

The 2014 Annual Conference & Awards will be held:
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Marriott Marquis
Washington, DC

Teresa A. Dolan, DDS, MPH


Teresa A. Dolan, DDS, MPH
Vice President and Chief Clinical Officer
DENTSPLY International

Preliminary Schedule At-A-Glance

9:30 am - 11 amCongressional Briefing on Capitol Hill
11 am - 12 NoonRegistration
12:00 pm - 1:30 pmLuncheon and Annual Awards
1:30 pm - 5 pmPRESENTATIONS
Securing a Pipeline of Next Generation Investigators
Chair:Christian Stohler, DrMedDent, Dean, Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
• NIDCR Opportunities & changes at NIH that align with the BMW, and Diversity Workforce committee (BUILD, NRMN);
Lynn King, Director, Career Development & Training, NIDCR
• How researchers are vulnerable in today's world of funding - TBD

The Latest in NIDCR-funded Research
Chair:Bruce Donoff, Dean, Harvard School of Dental Medicine
• The Microbiome and Recent Results Impacting Human Disease
Bruce Paster, PhD, Chair, Department of Microbiology, The Forsyth Institute
• Osteomucosal Healing: An old concept, but new approach to ONJ Pathophysiology
Reuben H. Kim, DDS, PhD, Associate Professor, UCLA School of Dentistry
• Facial Pain & Temporomandibular Joint Disease.
Jeff Shaefer DDS, Assistant Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; Director, Predoctoral Program in Pain Control; Harvard School of Dental Medicine

Industry & Patient Advocacy Organization Panel:
Bench to Bedside: Expediting Scientific Discovery to Improve Oral Health
Chair:Steve Kess, VP, Henry Schein Inc.
• How Patient Advocacy Organizations Push the Envelope of Getting Science in the Field Faster
Margaret Anderson, Faster Cures
• Partnering with Corporations, The NIH Perspective
Lilian Shum, Director NIDCR Extramural Program
• Technology Transfer & Intellectual Property from A University Perspective
Kathy Atchison, Vice Provost of New Collaborative Initiatives, UCLA
• Corporations Partnering with NIH:
Teresa Dolan, VP and Chief Clinical Officer, DENTSPLY
5 pm - 6:30 pmNetworking Social

5.5 Continuing Education Credits
The pending designation by NIDCR for this activity is 5.5 continuing education credits.
NIDCR is an ADA CERP Recognized Provider. ADA CERP is a service of the American Dental Association to assist dental professionals in identifying quality providers of continuing dental education. ADA CERP does not approve or endorse individual courses or instructors, nor does it imply acceptance of credit hours by boards of dentistry.

A Unique 1-Day ConferenceRegistration

Friends of NIDCR Member & Guests….…$199
Non Members………..……………………...$225
Dental School Student……………………...$125
NIDCR Employee…………………………..$125

Onsite Registration: Add $25

See Registration Form

Hotel Reservations

A special conference rate of $259 per night (excluding 14.5% taxes) has been secured for December 1-3 at the brand new:
Marriott Marquis
901 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington DC 20001

Click to make your hotel reservation.
Or, call Marriott at 1-800-228-9290 (you must identify yourself with the Friends of NIDCR to get the special rate).

Room Reservation Deadline: Monday, January 12, 2015.

We appreciate support from:

Platnium Sponsors

ADEA American Dental Education Association Dental Trade Alliance Dentsply
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
School of Dentistry

Gold Sponsors

Colgate Proctor and Gamble NYU College of Dentistry
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
DentaQuest Institute
Henry Schein

Silver Sponsors

 • University of Texas Health School of Dentistry

Bronze Sponsors

 • Harvard School of Dental Medicine
 • University of Nebraska College of Dentistry
 • University of North Carolina Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
 • University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine


 • Sjogren's Syndrome Foundation
 • UCSF School of Dentistry

For More Information

Contact: Peter Anas, FNIDCR Executive Director,
240-778-6117 or

home home about the friends annual conference barnes global health care board newsletter patient advocacy advocacy day events nidcr funding oral health caucus legislation tips organization and links council research staff NIDCR contact town halls join the friends